Category Archives: Racing

Tony finished 5th at Wetwang RR

James Allen of Sheffrec CC followed up his win in the Hull Thursday event of last week with another win in Wetwang this week.
As the 48 riders lined up for the start of the race, a light drizzle was falling on them but by the end of the race, the drizzle had turned into a heavy downpour and the field had been whittled down to just 18 riders.
Lap two saw Allen, Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT) and Nick Coupland (We Love Mountains) get away from the rest of the pack.
As the race wore on, no other riders managed to get across to the leaders, although Craig Gath of York Cycleworks spent much of the race yo-yoing between just behind the leaders to just in front of the chasers.
With the finish line in sight, Allen began to sprint and the Thorpe Hesley rider managed to take the victory by two bike lengths.
1 James Allen (Sheffrec CC)
2 Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT)
3 Nick Coupland (We Love Mountains)
4 Craig Gath (York Cycleworks)
5 Tony Goundry (Active CP Cycles)
6 Darren Bendlow (Clifton CC)
7 Will Glover (Sheffrec)
8 Sean Smith (Halifax Imperial Wheelers)
9 Dean Parkes (Team
10 Steve Hodgson (Moonglu RT)

Site under development


This site is currently under development. Please check back later.

Here is a nice video.



Julian Gromett wins first ActiveCPCycles RT road race


On his way back to his form of a decade ago, Julian Gromett (Cottingham Coureurs) dominated Active CP Cycles RT’s inaugural promotion over a new 57-mile course based on Middleton-on-the-Wolds and North Dalton in the East Riding of Yorkshire.
The 36-year-old, the South East Midlands division champion back in 2000, broke away on his own on the first of the seven laps, opening up a maximum lead of a minute over the next four laps before he was joined by a group of six chasers, and then clipped off the front again on the penultimate lap as the rest of the race closed in.
“It was a bit of a struggle on the last lap, it was a bit windy and my legs were dying the final time up the hill, but I knew what I had to do,” said Gromett, from Grimsby, who was followed over the line by Dave Shackleton (Wilsons Wheels) and Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT).
“It’s only my second race this year, I was ill after coming back from Majorca and only started training again on Monday, so I’m really chuffed.”
Gromett took a step back some seven years ago because of a blood flow problem and has only raced intermittently since then, but with a new coach in Adam Hardy and changes to the way he trains and his position, he is back as determined as ever.
“I’m putting the effort in and trying to get some form again,” he said. “I’ve entered the Lincoln Grand Prix hoping to get a ride and we’ll see how it goes.”
The course was well received, despite a number of punctures from flints washed on to the roads by recent rain, and commissaire Julie Rodman congratulated the promoting club for a superbly-run first event.
1 Julian Gromett (Cottingham Coureurs) 2:30:00
2 Dave Shackleton (Wilsons Wheels) at 10 sec
3 Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT)
4 Steven Guymer (Active CP Cycles RT)
5 Nathan Wilson (Wilsons Wheels) all same time
6 Dan Keena (Squadra RT) at 13 sec
7 Tom Stephenson (Colchester Rovers CC)
8 Paul Rymer (Wilsons Wheels)
9 Karl Downes (Active CP Cycles RT)
10 Paul Bell (Peak RC) all same time

Karl wins his first race for team

The Active CP Cycles rider got off to a flying start in the fog and was out at the front on his own for the first two laps before being joined by Tony Grassby (Peak Road CC) and Ben Roberts (Bridlington CC).
The trio of riders managed to stay together for the next three laps and then the chasing bunch started to catch up.
But Downes and Grassby managed to pull away from the pack with Roberts falling back and by the end of the race, it was left down to the top two to battle it out for top spot and the 41-year-old Beverley rider took the win.
1 Karl Downes (Active CP Cycles) 1:57.19
2 Tony Grassby (Peak Road CC) @ same time
3 Joe Rainey (Hull Thursday)
4 Daniel Keena (Squadron RP) all @ 35sec
5 Jonathan Wolff (Sheffrec)
6 Craig Armitage (Crosstrax)
7 Simon Maudsley (RVO Racing)
8 Ewan Farrow (Ilkley CC)
9 John Right (Wakefield CC)
10 Shaun Smith (Halifax Imperial Wheelers) all @ 36sec